A plague in Appleloft: help with my first MG story?

Hey guys, I’ve only posted on this forum a few times and I’m still very new to Mouse Guard. I tossed up my first character, Angus, for critique a few weeks ago, and I received a lot of great support from the community. I was wondering if I could get some similar critique on this first story I’m writing up. I feel like I’ve got a good handle on the story itself, but I’m unsure exactly how to turn it into a Mouse Guard session: what might be some good obstacles, twists, etc?

The story begins in Lockhaven, in the first few rainy weeks of spring. Gwendolyn still hasn’t received word from the mice of Appleloft, in the south, and she’s beginning to worry. Early reports indicate that a caravan of merchant-mice out of Copperwood are stranded outside the town because the gates of Appleloft remain shut tight. Gwendolyn is also worried about these mice, as the weather watchers of Lockhaven report that powerful spring storms may be on the way, and flash flooding in the south could be extremely dangerous to any caravans out in the territories.

She asks the PCs to travel to Appleloft and resolve the situation, and gives them each a pack full of supplies to help the stranded caravan (jars of honey, loaves of gabcroon, etc). I could use some help setting up some obstacles for the trip down to Appleloft, I think; I’m not sure how to set up travel obstacles yet. I know the difficulties have something to do with the current weather, but I’m not sure how to fit it all together. I was thinking a decent twist for a failed test could be that the scent from the foods in their packs have attracted a hungry skunk, or something?