Beginner with questions

Greetings Mice of the Territories!

I am a big fan of the Mouse Guard comics and I’ve been looking to get into an RPG. For these reasons I decided to buy the lovely MG Boxed Set. I’ve been reading through the rule book trying to get my head around how to run a game. I have zero experience as a GM and I have only played one RPG system in the past, which was a system a friend of my designed himself. I have a few questions, I really want to get this right as I want my friends (pen and paper RPG virgins) to enjoy it and come back for more. I apologise if anything I asked is stated in the rule book or here on the forums already but there is so much info to digest that I might have missed/forgetten things.

1. How much input do players have in the GM turn? Do they only roll and use skills when I present them with an explicit obstacle or can they do things between obstacles/conflicts? Let me try to think of an example, lets say I narrate part of a journey to a town and a player expresses their desire to harvest a few supplies in case of poor weather, could I say “Sure, do a harvester 4 test” get them to RP the outcome and continue towards the planned obstacle?
    At times the rules read like I just pick the characters up and drop them infront of a problem that they could defeat and narrate in about 2 minutes. But then the book also emphasises roleplaying and challenging beliefs, instincts. How can I do this if they get 2 challenges and finish?
    The Grain Peddler sample mission seems like a perfect example of this. Maybe I am just missing something or expecting the missions to be more epic.

2. Am I right in thinking that a complex obstacle is basically a bunch of simple ones put together? How long would you forsee a simple obstacle taking when factoring in the GM narration, players tests and player narration of their actions?