Feint vs. Attack

I’ve just read through my copy of Mouse Guard, and I’m confused about one thing regarding conflicts: The book reads, “If played against an Attack, the Feinting player may not attack or defend”. Does this mean that the player using the Attack maneuver makes an independent test against the Feinting player, while he or she makes no test at all? Or does this mean that, assuming the Feinting player chose Attack or Defend as his next volley, he wouldn’t be able to do either once it comes around?

Yup. Feint is risky. It shuts down Defend (defender can’t roll) but Attack shuts down Feint (feinter can’t roll).

Alright, that makes sense. Thank you very much.

No worries! And welcome to the forums, by the way. :slight_smile:

Thanks, Rafe. Glad to be here.

Great tool for the GM if the players are trying to build up a lot of disposition by Defending.

My friend and I were wondering about this. Thank you for clearing it up. We for some reason thought that for the rest of the conflict you couldnt attack or defend <— Dummies.