Monster Weapons in a Conflict

Per the conflict rules, players choose their characters’ weapons at the start of each three-action round, but monsters are listed with weapons that vary depending upon the monster’s action. Does this mean that monsters do NOT choose weapons when characters do, but instead use whatever natural weapon they have based upon their chosen action?

My understanding is that monsters declare their weapons the same way players do. Those weapons help various actions just the same way regular weapons do.

Wombleton is correct.

Depending upon the weapon and the conflict type, this could make some actions unarmed, right?

p150. Monsters don’t suffer penalties for being unarmed, unless they are made to be so by being disarmed.