No Country for Old Mice

Hi Everyone

I’m new to Mouse Guard RPG but will hopefully be running a campaign soon, and have been looking at lots of different ideas for stories, but I’m struggling to get my head around some of the core concepts of play. I’ve GM’d other rpgs for yonks, so the framework of the GM’s Turn/Player’s Turn seems like quite a ritualised way to play, but I’m very keen to give it a go, very intrigued to see how it works.

The thing I’ve been wrestling with is the notion of Twists and how they enhance the story. I’ve foundClayton’s Long Road to Elmoss Mission writeup to be really really useful and will model my own mission plans on his layout, but having read through it, and seeing all the planning he’s put in to his Twists, can’t help but wonder at the effort he’s put in. It seems all the fun and excitement of overcoming his Twists will be completely sidestepped with two successful rolls against his two obstacles; from my point of view the game will be much more exciting if the players fail against them. And what if the Twists are crucial to uncovering the story?