NPCs to roundout patrol. Any suggestions?

Hello fellow mice,

This is my first post and I hope it’s in the right section of the forum. I’ve read the book through and I have been lurking on this forum for a couple of weeks. I really enjoyed the book and truly excited to get started. The forum here has been a great help answering most of my questions.

I’ve been GMing a group for 3 years now. There’s 5 of us and we played multiple RPGs throughout the years. I’ve pushed for a mouseguard game for a little while. Half of our group decided to take a break and the other wants to start a mouseguard game pronto.

After reading the book it seems the optimal patrol size is 3. There is only 2 players and me the GM. How many have you used NPCs working in the patrols. Any suggestions?

I’ve used NPCs in all of our other RPGs to help spur on the players, helping achieve goals, grounding them when things get a big crazy and comic relief. It appears to me from the book this is discouraged. Is it game breaking? I can’t foresee any problems as I’m used to it and my players have come to expect it.

I’d be greatful for any help.

Thanks,
Templeton

I believe the best way to run NPC that help the patrol as wandering helping dice. It is easy to have an NPC to pop in for a session or web a scene and offer a helping dice for a hard task. Have to build a bridge? Well these workmice from town are here to help. Fox on the loose? A guard mouse in the area is tracking the same fox and can lend a paw. That way the NPC don’t overshadow the characters in anyway but thy can give a little bit of a boost.

I think it is important to note a few things about the game though; first, the system already has a built in system to have NPC’s help drive the story with both the Friend and Enemy that each character has. They can also elicit additional help through successful circle checks. By supplying a NPC patrol member that fills the gaps in the patrol, it diminishes the importance of these mechanics.