Players not liking the skill tracking? Help?

I’m new to BW, and I’m pretty much in love - I’m enamoured of the rules.

So my next objective is to try to get the rest of my group enamoured, too.

However… there’s a major obstacle :confused:

We’ve been playing Pathfinder, and I’ve started DMing BW for about 3 or 4 sessions now (for some reason, I can’t recall exactly >.>). While there’s a lot of aspects they like, both of them find tracking tests to be a major hassle.

Specifically, my husband was saying that it feels like he has to break immersion, break the flow of the game, to track what his total dice were vs the obstacle on a chart, then mark it down on his character sheet.

Now, our version of Pathfinder bears almost no resemblance to the rules anymore - but then, during combat, we are tracking HP with every hit. To me, there’s really not that big of a difference >.> But apparently there is? I’ve only played one short session of BW with him DMing, so I can’t say much, but I really didn’t find it a hassle to mark it down while he was saying what happened as a result of what I did.

That said, have other people run into this problem, either themselves, or with others? Is it something that gets better the more you play? Is there a system for how to track this stuff quickly?

I’d suggest to them writing down the skill, number of dice rolled, and obstacle on some scratch paper when they make a roll. At the end of the session, they can work out whether each check was Routine, Difficult, or Challenging. Hopefully since that doesn’t involve looking up tables or doing any calculations it can be done quickly without taking them out of the game.

If you trust your memories, you might be able to get away with not marking them until the end of the session. But you have to stop and work out how many dice you’re rolling anyway, so I’m not sure how adding one additional step makes a difference?