[1E] Are dice the deciding factor in rewards? Or is it fiction?

I’ve been playing TB1E for a few years and I’ve only really played w/ 1 group. The way we do Instinct rewards is “Did you pass your Instinct test or did you fail?” and that’s it. Passing means a Fate. Failing means no reward.

I’ve been having some friction w/ my group about the MVP reward. In the 1E text on pg 109 it states “The MVP reward goes to the player who made the crucial roll so the party could face down the big problem besetting it in the session.” And directly below it describes Merrill successfully casting a spell and saving the group to earn the MVP persona reward.

The question is. If Merrill did that, but the reason they successfully cast the spell is because they actually failed on their dice roll but took condition w/ success from the GM… does that disqualify them from earning MVP? Does the dice roll for whatever you’re talking about for MVP have to be successful to earn MVP? Does “Face down” = “succeed dice roll against”?

My opinion is that the rewards are about the fiction. They’re NOT about dice rolls. But I can concede that there is some foggy space in between these two things where the rewards live that is distasteful to me, though I would really prefer to not have to operate there. “Facing down the big problem” means confronting it. Taking stand. Being an Ob to their goal. Having that dramatic moment in the session.
Whether you succeed on the dice roll or not doesn’t actually matter.

I empathize with you here, because this is my vexation with D&D players. Everyone seems more impressed with a die comes up on a damn twenty than when the wizard jumps in front of an arrow for his wounded friend. I think the operative words are “the crucial roll,” not the crucial success. MVP is not the Most Lucky Player, MVP is for the Most Valuable Player. I think the wording of the rules here makes your interpretation entirely valid.

1 Like

Hey Rich,