A confused Character Burner

Apologies for this deluge of questions I’m about to spill. I’m working my way through the character burner and have got myself very confused mostly over gear. Everything so far has been pretty easy to understand but I’m getting a little muddled with terminology and there’s also a few things that I’m either getting completely wrong or the book is a bit…incorrect. Of course seeing as I’m new to this I feel bad immediately blaming the book!!

First of all I’m a little bit confused with the general description of weapons used in the example characters in the character burner. In the 12 steps section the Elf that is created takes a Run of the Mill bow. Okay so looking at the gear section that says I use the bow from the lifepaths of man section. Yet when I finally flick to the back of the book there are a few bows to chose from. Do I just assume that Run of the mill bow refers to a hunting bow?

In other examples a few characters are getting run of the mill swords. Yet once again there are multiple swords to chose from. The short sword, the arming sword and the long sword. Do they all cost the same price because they’re all run of the mill weapons?

The final thing is at the very end of the resources section during character creation. The final resource point is used buy a gambeson for 2D worth of protection. Yet…gambeson doesn’t appear at all in the elf’s resource list. There’s a random mention of using the mannish resources for run of the mill armour but the prices seem off. Reinforced leather, light mail, heavy mail etc all seems cheaper on the elven list than on the list for men. Also buying just one piece of chest armour costs half the rp cost so…half of 3 rounded up is 2 not 1 right? And then finally looking at the armour section of the book the gambeson only provides 1D of protection not 2.