Advancement Question

When you are testing a skill vs a stat, in Range and Cover, the stat suffers a double obstacle penalty. For advancement, would it be what you rolled vs their successes? Or double what you rolled?

I’m pretty sure you use the number of successes rolled before doubling, though the rules only explicitly say so for Beginner’s Luck.

(I think I answered a different question from the one you were actually asking. So, just to be sure – when you’re the one to roll the skill versus some else’s stat, you never double your own successes. It’s only the other guy who does this as a penalty to his roll, and only to calculate his margin of success relative to yours. In other words, no free successes for the skill test.)