Advice Request

Hey All,

i’m blackhathedgehog, a new member of the forum! i’m here to ask for some guidance about how to run my current (rather rowdy) Patrol. We’ve been really enjoying the game so far, but i’m looking on how to step-up my game.

Some background:

• i have no RPG experience other than a few informal games back in college
  • None of the six players of the Patrol have any RPG experience at all
  • We’ve been playing for a few months (Grain Peddler twice, then we just completed our fifth mission last weekend)
  • i’m still defining player expectations for what sort of universe they want to explore

So far, i’ve mostly been focused on modifying missions either from the rulebook or from session reports that are available online – they’ve been a great asset and thanks to everyone who has ever contributed a Mouse Guard session report on this website or others.

i have various gaps in my own play (of course, as a new GM), but i’m looking less for tips to improve myself and more for potential directions to challenge the Patrol. Currently we have:

• Patrol Leader
  • Mouse-orientated, mostly focused on journalism and record-keeping. Not really much for fighting and recently has almost completely lost control of the Patrol (eg, everyone walks over him all the time). Currently working with the player to help setup a backbone.

(OLD Belief): It is not enough to only know that something occurs, but also why, in order to find the solution.
Belief: It is my responsibility to teach my patrol new skills
Instinct: I must note down important information and observations as soon as possible.

• Patrol Guard 1
  • Independent, unnaturally talented with fast fingers and ability to create tools. Has difficulty with Tenderpaws, due to an unfortunate habit of getting them killed.

Belief: Even the most useless-seeming things can be repurposed and given new life.
Instinct: If you don’t have what you need but you have the materials to make it, make it.

• Patrol Guard 2