Analyzing Resources

Disclaimer

Let me start by saying that I’m a somewhat amateurish mathematician. I minored in math in college, but that was several years ago. If I make mistakes in terminology I hope you will forgive me and not be too strict with me. If I err conceptually or philosophically, please point that out because that’s what I’m mostly interested in.

Also, I guess I should say, even though I think it goes without saying, that Torchbearer is great. This is just something that I’ve been thinking about and hopefully y’all will find interesting.

Theory and Background

One of the things I found fascinating about BW was how Resources were non-linear. 10 objects that can be purchased with and Ob 1 resources test could never be traded for an object requiring an Ob 10 resources test. Obstacles existed on something closer to a logarithmic scale than a linear scale. That’s great! Not only does that work perfectly with the non-linear probabilities of increasing attributes in a dice pool mechanic, but it means we only have to work with small numbers for our stats. This is a good thing particularly because a linear scale version of the difference between Ob1 Resources and Ob10 resources would require some very very large numbers.

Then there was helping dice… no matter what your score is you get +1D? That doesn’t make sense… the difference between 1 and 2 is much smaller than the difference between 9 and 10! Some hacks to work around that were suggested in the BW forums, but for the most part it was only +1D, so who really cares.