Sorry if this has been asked before, I’ve been looking around the forum but I can’t find an answer for this… When counting tests for Beginner’s Luck, the rules state that tests that would be a difficult or higher for the root stat count as a test for that stat. So far so good. However, the rules also state that all Perception test must be successful to count. So what to do when a failed Beginner’s Luck test rooted in Perception has a high enough obstacle to count as a difficult. Does that test count towards Perception, despite being failed? Or does the player lose the test? Or does it count towards the skill?
No test for perception.
As Praion notes, you get nothing.