Bringing new players into the fold

Hey all!
I run a monthly one shot game to get people playing some different games. It has been a real blast and my horizons have been expanded beyond my wildest dreams. Some games are a little out the and some are fairly easy to drop people into.

My first question is how hard is it to introduce people to Mouse Guard?
My second question is if anyone has any suggestions or pearls to get said people up to speed quickly?

More concisely, how do you get people past the “huh?” phase and into the fun parts?

I am also new to Mouse Guard and it will be my first time running it.

Any thoughts?

I know the central idea (one of them at least) is to “fail forward”. How often does failure lead to death? In a one shot situation should I worry about people dying? On my reads through the game it seems like the world is a very dangerous place for a mouse. Our do I just need to be careful about setting up conflicts that are life or death?

Death isn’t on the line until death’s on the line, as far as I recall. You can’t accidentally die. It’s either giving them a condition, or pulling out a twist…which might lead to a dangerous animal encounter, if you wish. (Which, I mean–give it to them. It’s not easy to kill a guardmouse. You have to lose a conflict badly, when life was on the line.)

CarpeGuitarrem is right; death is not accidental in MG. It must be part of a stated goal in a conflict. That is helpful to players who want to invest in their character over a period before finding something worth dying for (or risking death for).

Yes, the world is dangerous for a mouse.

There are two short gimmicks I have used which help players get into thinking like a mouse. I’ll keep these brief, but you can PM for clarifying details.

Mouse Ball
In this gimmick, players should offer answers that have a mouse perspective. Ask players to give short answers about what the world around them is like. Consider topics such as: