Casual Gamers and BW

(As per Luke’s request in my Thread: Beliefs Problem I am going to provide more dynamics about my desire to use BW at an afterschool club)

First off, I have been working at an afterschool club that at attempts to enrich children’s lives instead of just be a day care. So I wanted to share my passion: RPGs. My boss likes this idea, having played RPGs herself when she was younger. So I don’t have to combat any admin resistance to the idea of games or RPGs. That is a plus for me (I used to be a teacher and RPGs were not well thought of)

My real barrier to playing RPGs (and in particular BW) with the kids at the club is the facts that 1) they are not at the club every day (we usually play every day) 2) they do not have to come to any of the programs, they can come to the program if they want and thus do not attend the program every day (usually because they could get on the computer which is more fun for them)

So I do not have regular attendance in two ways, and a lack of commitment in general. But I want to share with them the experience of RPGs (in general) and BW (in particular).

Now, with most other RPGs I can create Pre-Gens and it is no problem (I want to be a fighter: okay, here is Fighty McFighty, roll to kill that orc) As we all know, BW is a different beast, there are the beliefs. That is the heart of the game to me, and they are user driven, or they are pointless.

If I set down and play BW I could spend most of the time creating beliefs with new players (or possibly updating returning players). Which is not my idea of fun. I want to play the game, not just write belief statements.