Channeling The Wheel

I feel like posting about a game I’ve been running for 4 years now. It’s not going to all get down on one page, and for the moment my priority is going to be getting a broad gist down and highlighting some things I learned about Play By Post in Burning Wheel, and why not to do it.

In 2017, I decided to try running my own Play By Post Burning Wheel game. I had experienced a failed one prior as a player, due to non-engagement, and was in another (which failed in a similar manner) but I thought that by recruiting no more than 4 people and keeping up momentum whilst focusing on people who were contributing I’d be able to push things forward enough. We also agreed to use Discord channels to discuss Help and FoRKs quickly and efficiently outside the main channel of play.

Original Premise:

Setting: The world is a Great Forest Wilderness, linking oases of civilization. Magic all comes from the Spirits; as well as Summoning and Spirit Binding there is a natural ability to channel Spirit-power that some humans have, called Channelling.

Situation: people are turning from traditional veneration to a conjoined worshipping of a single being “The Tower” and are forcefully spreading this religion. It’s also right before Winter, which is a terrible time to not be in a warm house.

Bang: your village, Kallbacken, has a force of 20 extremely well-armed and armoured people turn up, plant a banner, and demand everyone gives up the old ways and embraces the change.

Mechanical Facts: Channelling (which would be its own topic), Seasonal Resources, 4 Lifepaths by default. Elves, Humans and Great Wolves all available.

Some things changed quickly: No-one played an Elf and they weren’t too well tied in anyway. The person who played a Wolf had a concept that required more LPs, so they got 6 by group approval. Also, some wilderness was defined as not being forest.

The 4 characters we started with were: