Character knowledge of the Vaylen threat from the beginning

I’m GMing a new game and I’m new to BE, not new to BW. The infection mechanic is really cool! Totally excited to play against the humans.

So my question is: how do you get your PCs involved with the theme of the game from the infiltration phase? Do you guys usually let the characters figure out eventually that there is a Vaylen presence on the world? Do you start the PCs tipped off to there presence somehow at the start of the game? How have your campaigns started out? Did it coincide with planetary attitude?

I’m just a little apprehensive. Probably because my players haven’t finished there characters yet, I don’t have relationships, beliefs or instincts yet. I’ll probably come up with some thing when I get that stuff and do the planetary web thing.

Depends on the planetary attitude.
But in general, I like to start with serious misdirection and then let the players discover the vaylen themselves in play.

It’s lots of fun when they accuse someone of being vaylen who clearly isn’t!

first of all, it’s really hard to start players new to BE in the infiltration phase. the subtleties are often too subtle to get a good momentum going AND learn the rules. i usually start new players in usurpation phase. if you’re dead-set on starting from infiltration, the ‘vaylen reveal’ is usually best for the climactic scene in the last few maneuvers. the final goal inherent in the infiltration phase is to get the vaylen on the planet, so don’t come out the door swinging with vaylen. maybe their whispered about. more likely they’re off the radar until the final maneuver.

i think the phase is as important as the planetary attitude for how you approach ‘knowledge of the vaylen’