clarification of recalibrate action

Smart answers to dumb rules questions, please!

Does it actually removes hazards from my hand?
In case of improbable situation when winner recalibrate it matters.

Can I spend earned bugs immediately?
Recalibrate and make more “go for it”.

thank you,

Recalibrate gives you that many bugs for your own hazard immediately and removes them from your hand.
You cannot spend those bugs until the next challenge.

I see. Thank you.

You can’t spend them in this challenge?

Man, I always thought you could spend them right away.

The book is unclear! But that’s how I remember doing it.