And yet, Deadly Precision (5 pt. Die Trait, same cost as Chosen One) allows the character to use his skill exponent in place of his Power when factoring his IMS for weapons under that skill. (pg 320) that suggests a grey shade skill would allow grey shade damage by virtue of this die trait.
Each effect of a trait has a cost. The base cost of any trait that shifts an ability is 10 points. 5 for “rule breaking” and another 5 to go grey shade. Chosen One is probably too cheap, to be honest, even presuming it has a big discount since it is restricted to men with Faithful.
If you use the +2 power add from say a G4 Power (giving your character a B6 mark damage for martial arts) and you don’t get enough successes, does your character break his hand or is it treated like natural armor (which doesn’t break).
Possibly, but then again, I think that faith should require a skill to use it properly too. (With great power there should be great knowledge to wield it properly).
But back on thread (my bad) there is no way in BWG for a player to train, burn, buy, develop, or otherwise aquire grey shade damage hand to hand skills without playing to their bits, and burning some artha. Thanks for the definitive guys!
I don’t know, it seems to me that if you are choosing to use your skill to base your damage on rather than your power, you have decided to choose finesse over strength and should not be able to dip into your grey power for a +2 bonus damage.
The trait allows the character to use his skill exponent in place of his Power stat.
When figuring IMS, it should be one or the other.
Black shade weapon add plus, either grey Power with a +2 power shade bonus. Or weapon skill exponent in place of power without any shade bonus. Power or finesse, hack and slash or slice and dice, the choice is yours.
What I meant by that was if you have a G4 power, a B5 sword skill, Deadly Precision with swords, and a black shade sword (+2 power) you should have to choose between using your power plus sword plus shade advantage to have a B8 Mark (G4 Power +2 for shade shift to black +2 for sword) and possibly break your black shade sword if you miss, or using your deadly precision trait to have a B7 Mark (Skill exponent 5 +2 for sword). Again, the trait says it allows the character to use his skill exponent instead of his power stat to determine IMS. If we are adding the power stat shade shift bonus to the deadly precision trait skill exponent we are combining instead of choosing at which point the character in my example would do a B9 Mark (5 from sword skill exponent, +2 from Power shade shift bonus, +2 from sword).
The problem I have with this is that the IMS rules apply to using your power as the basis for IMS and as such, if you shade shift your power that shade difference must be taken into account when you shade shift back to black to do damage (+2 or +4 depending on shade). But Deadly Precision bases the IMS on the Skill Exponent instead of the Power Stat so the power stat shade should not come into play to determine IMS. The only shade to consider for damage with deadly precision should be the shade of the weapon.
You replace the exponent of Power with the exponent of the skill. Where you had (B/G/W)(X) Power before, now you have (B/G/W)(Y) Power, where Y is the skill exponent. That’s it. That’s exactly how it works. It’s not skill exponent instead of power stat, it’s skill exponent instead of power exponent.
You don’t have to like it, but that’s the trait as intended.
It’s not a matter of like or dislike, but rather a matter of trying to get it right and understand it well enough to explain it to others. (And I really do appreciate you hanging in there to explain things)
Lets see if I understand this now.
Weapon Shade determines damage shade.
Skill Shade determines Dice Success ratios.
Power Shade grants a bonus to darker shade weapons, (+2/+4) this bonus depends on shade difference (one shade/two shades).
“Deadly Precision allows the character to choose one weapon skill that he favors. Use his Skill Exponent in place of his Power stat when factoring his IMS for weapons under this skill.” (pg. 320)
Regardless of that quote, if the Power shade is lighter than the weapon shade you still gain the shade shift bonus of +2 per shade difference as per the rules for “Power and IMS” on pages 545-546 in Burning Wheel Gold.