(DMs) How do you handle loot?

I’m relatively new to Burning Wheel (I’ve DM’d a half-dozen sessions or so). Everything is great so far, and everyone is starting to get the hang of it, but I feel like I’m lacking in the loot area. I’m from the DnD realm where there a things like Loot Tables everywhere. I don’t know if I’m after a BW table, per se, I think it’s more of a question of how you (the royal “you”) handle Loot/Magic Items/etc. in your Campaigns.

Thanks in advance!

Loot isn’t really a thing in BW. That said, most riches or treasures could be described as either Cash or Funds, both of which are described on page 374 of BWG.

Magic items are a little trickier. I tend to not think of them as things you find randomly. At best, you might find a weapon with a 1D advantage for being exceptionally well-made or balanced. Or maybe it has VA when a normal weapon wouldn’t. Truly wondrous things are the subjects of adventures. The Magic Burner has the rules for creating items of power and relics, and some examples of them.

Gotcha. I recently purchased a copy of the Magic Burner, so I now (even more so) eagerly await its arrival.

Thanks for your speedy reply and help. Appreciate it!

No problem! Have fun playing!

I’d rarely give out more than 1D in cash for a haul of loot, maybe 2D if it’s something immense. 3D if you slay the oldest dragon, who has amassed his hoard since the dawn of time, and take every last ring and goblet.

Giving out tons of stuff in BW tends to do bad things because getting gear is an important thing. Resource tests for even simple gear are often difficult for poor characters, and having to get the gear you want isn’t trivial at all.

I think that’s rather conservative. (Well, maybe less so if you’re talking about spreading it across many PCs.)