During play bookeeping, how to simplify

I’m currently planing a new BW game, probably with players new to BW

In my last game, that did not last that long due to real life reasons, I had problems with keeping track of tests made (for advancement) and artha spendings without it slowing down play. What is best practises/good tips on how to do this with a group that does not yet know the rules? Is there some good sheet I can use to record everything? Or do any of you have other good tricks for getting this done? (I’m quite new to burning wheel myself, having GMd about 5 sessions total and not played myself)

Flippant answer: The players are expected to learn the rules. Feel free to slow them down and have them log the tests.

(Hopefully) Helpful answer: in the moment, just jot down the ability, # dice, and ob on scrap paper. After the scene, go through the log and mark advancement.

Taking notes and only looking at the advancement chart between scenes or at the end of a session has worked out just fine for us so far.

When taking notes (I do this anyway for NPC names and key details), I’ll write down: skill, dice rolled (track artha dice separately here), obstacle, any artha used. You can figure out whether it’s Routine, Difficult, or Challenging later. Pretty low-fuss once you make it a habit.

When I’m running BW, I usually keep a copy of the Routine/Difficult/Challenging Table at the top of my GM notes.

You should use the sheet I made just for that purpose!

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/49l4pj7vp4emdlt/AABsEJO7skJFOgLK0Dv__msoa?dl=0

I, as GM, tend to tell my player “check off a Challenging” after they’ve rolled, but before I’ve decided exactly how to narrate their failure. I use one of the charts you can find umpteen variations of on this forum, and quickly check once they’ve finished gathering dice and started whispering supplications to whatever beings may listen.