So, I have been running Fight! for a while with my group. We love it, of course. However, the engagement rules still have me a little confused. Specifically, engagement during a big, messy melee.
For instance, in our game this Sunday:
Ganoveth injured and scared off his opponnent (failed steel, run screaming), so he assessed and noted that his buddy, Thelor, was in some trouble with his opponnent.
Next exchange, Ganoveth indicated he wanted to assist Thelor and double-team the baddie giving him grief. However, as Ganoveth made his way over Thelor, I wanted another baddie to try and engage HIM.
Who needs to roll to engage who? Am I making this out to be more confusing than it should be?
Here’s what I think it should be:
Baddie 1 and Thelor remain engaged. No roll necessary.
Ganoveth must test to engage Baddie 1 – If successful, Baddie 1 will be threatened by both Ganoveth and Thelor. If unsuccessful, Baddie 1 maneuvered so that – for the moment – only Thelor (who is was orginally engage with) can strike him.
The new Baddie 2 who is trying to engage with Ganoveth must test to engage him. If successful, Baddie can strike Ganoveth. Further, if Ganoveth was successful in engaging with Baddie 2, HE might get double-teamed!
Does any of that make sense?
Also, if Baddie 2 is engaged with Ganoveth and Ganoveth is engaged with Baddie 1, does that me that Thelor is also engaged with Baddie 2 (through a sort of “engagement chain”? If not, how do I answer the players who say, “He’s RIGHT NEXT to my friend? Why can’t I hit him?”
Thanks, and sorry if this is damn confusing.