Fight!

So I’ve been playing and running RPGs for ages (about 20 years), including every edition of D&D, World of Darkness, 7th Sea, L5R, Battletech, Cyberpunk, Nobilis, Pathfinder, Call of Cthulu and just about anything else you can think of. I just picked up Gold because it looked interesting and I had heard intriguing things about it.

There are many things I like on first read: Lifepaths as Character Creation and Beliefs both remind me of things I’ve liked a great deal in other systems. I like the advancement system in theory, and I’m eager to try it out. Lack of a game world doesn’t bother me, I like to make them up anyway.

The thing that concerns me a bit on first read is the combat system. A simple opposed roll to deal with brutes and thugs is fine. Bloody VS I’ll try out; it sounds to me like the combat option used most often. The Fight system makes me a little nervous. I tend to run relatively few combats per session (1-2) but when I do, they matter. So, I have a few questions.

How does this system hold up when half a dozen players are fighting a villain? Does it bog down? Do the ganging up rules work well when its the players doing it? Can it handle a lot of moving pieces - say, 8-12 characters between both sides facing off in a complex battle that involves melee, ranged attacks, and magic? How much overhead is there in terms of teaching players - scripting actions and the rules for what modifies what all seem like you would need some serious player training time. Are the combats exciting, adrenaline pumping, or just rules crunching complex?

Has anyone considered/made cards to lay down for scripting, as opposed to making lists? It struck me as one way to smooth the transition for players not used to things.

Thanks.

For one thing, cards have been tried and found lacking.
A lot of players against 1 villain will lead to quick death of the villain.

The other things will be better answered by other people.