When the last character on either side is incapacitated, the firefight ends (p.464 step 10). But what happens in terms of the objectives & compromise? Keep in mind the dispositions might be at max on both sides, or even stranger, the team that was knocked out might have a higher disposition than the “winner”.
Here’s some actual-play context. In our last session there was a Close Quarters Mini-Firefight. The Kerrn PC attacked a Vaylen officer in his prison cell, hoping to get the vaylen to give up the name of the hooded torturer* who had taken his eye out a few days earlier.
In the first action of the first volley, the Kerrn succeeded at a Close Combat, so they went to individual actions: Hand-to-hand for the Kerrn, Overbear for the Vaylen. In a crazy turn of events the Kerrn only got 1 success, while the Vaylen got 4.
Since the Kerrn’s Speed was only 3, this meant that the Vaylen had him “pinned and captured” as per p.496. So after some discussion we ruled that the fight was over, and since both sides were at similar dispos (3/4 vs 5/6) I think we decided it was like a Tied At Zero result.
But we weren’t sure if that kind of cheated the Vaylen/GM, since he had “won” the fight.
- Of course the Kerrn’s player knows that my PC was the torturer in question, but that’s another story.