First Time GM Questions

Hi BW Forum!

This is my first time on here and also my first time running BW game.
I wanted to get your opinions on getting started, specifically about how much prep i should have?
I built out the foundation of the story I’d like to run, but I’ve also heard it’s best to prep as little as possible and instead allow the players to build the world around them.

I don’t think any of the players I’m going to run with are on here so I think I can elaborate a little more.
The planet’s core has gone cold and it’s stopped rotating. Its population, though, found a way to keep it’s core active with science but the only way to further fuel this is to mine an element from a neighboring dwarf planet. The story line is basically one of geopolitical strife where the body controlling the mines for all intents and purposes have the most power. The main bodies are this overlord group, the resistance, and lastly a religious group who believe it’s the planet’s destiny to die out because the gods have willed it so. I’m imaging plot lines on both planets with interactions between the different groups.

I guess what I’m asking is if this is too much? Should pull back on the story, or is this just good?
I still have a ton of minutiae stuff to figure out, but let me know what you all think.

I appreciate all the help!

-stephen

1 Like

It’s possible to do this setting in Burning Wheel if you make your own lifepaths or get really good at recontextualizing the quasi-medieval stuff out of the box. This would make a very fine setting for Burning Empires with little or no modification.

The trick with BW is that the “setting” is pretty tightly interwoven with the mechanics. It’s tough for beginners to separate character creation from everything else. If you’re already comfortable with the system, fudging it is easy enough, but nobody starts out that way.