First Time GM: What are the most important rules to memorize?

Hey guys,

I’m going to be GMing my first Mouse Guard game on Saturday and I’ve got my mission all set up. What I’m particularly nervous about is making sure I have all of the rules straight. I’ve GMed in the past, but with games whose rules are extremely easy (like Dread, which I highly recommend, and Fiasco). So my big question is what rules would you recommend I know by heart and which ones should be referenced? Basically I want to know how you all go about keeping all the rules straight.

Best, Em

I GM’d for the first time (in any game) the other day. I was also very nervous about getting it right. From the experience I think the main thing is to be confident with the conflict system. I wasn’t 100% confident with it and it did stall the flow of the game a little.

Obviously I have very little experience with the game but this was my initial impression.

We had a great time btw and I really enjoyed GMing the game. Hopefully you will too.

Thanks! I’m really excited because I’ve set up a small campaign based off of the grain peddler mission. My players will have to find the peddler between Elmoss and Sprucetuck and discover information regarding the Scent Border – stuff that should be classified. I’m hoping to eventually involve the Weasels who are trying to replicate the scent border to keep rats (who will be even more cruel than the weasels) out of the dark heather tunnels to the west. We’ll see how my group takes to the first mission, but I hope they like it!

I ran a slightly altered version of the Grain Peddler mission too. They came across a squirrel that wanted to steal their supplies. They found the grain cart in the squirrel’s burrow and the peddler sheltering from the rain under a bush.