First time playing Mouseguard

So I’m just learning the BW system, on my blog reader I just saw someone had played Mouseguard for the first time. I thought I’d bring it up here in case anyone wanted to chime in on their experience vs. his impression, specifically he states, “The slowness of the games was pretty frustrating, and I don’t think it was all the DM’s fault.”.

http://cyclopeatron.blogspot.com/2011/02/orccon-2011-recap-and-photos.html

well as the GM in question, I’m not sure what to say. Another of the players tweeted “Getting a cart unstuck from the mud has never been this much fun!” So, I must have done something right. I thought the cart situation worked well as a complex hazard, with one of the mice using insectrist to handle a twenty-beetle team while another was shoring up the wheels with Carpenter and another was using his Persuasion to get a bunch of merchants and laborers in line.

I also thought the argument conflict was fun and my sense at the time was that everyone was having fun at the table and that the pacing, while a tad slower than it would have been if everyone had familiarity with the rules was still not bad.

I do need to speed something up a bit, as I wasn’t able to get to the players turn in the four hours. I will take the blame there. I didn’t have that difficulty the last time I ran the mission, but I had players who knew the game. I spent some time in the beginning with just an overview of the character sheet. I’m not sure I could have done that any faster. Possibly.

Overall, I thought the session went well and had lots of positive feedback other than this one post. It definitely wasn’t perfect. I should have done more with the NPC that they did find when they missed their Circles rolls, and I still find that I have to look up a rule now and then during play. However, I don’t think I am going to change either the Cart obstacle or the Argument conflict in the future.