in fight, it says great strike bypasses block, but not shields. so if you have a shield do you just roll your shield dice vs the skill just like against a regular strike (except it’s a great strike)?
I rule it thusly: If you blocked with a weapon, you didn’t block. If you blocked with a shield, you blocked as though a normal strike.
that makes sense
The rules for using a shield to Block a Great Strike are within the Shield Training section (p. 481, BWG) and don’t say that they don’t benefit from the bonus dice for the shield.
However, because they are part of the Shield Training rules, I’d rule: If you blocked with a shield and have Shield Training, you blocked as though a normal strike.
This topic was automatically closed 90 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.