Halloween MG Mission

For my Halloween RPG this year I think I’ve settle on finally learning/running Mouse Guard. The adventure will have a Halloween-ish theme for the holiday.

I’m brand new to the game, though I’ve had the hardback for years now so I figured I’d post and hopefully get some input to help make the game go smoothly.

I have the kernel of an idea: Gwendolyn calls the patrol in and tells them that a town (TBD which) has been reporting missing mice over the past few weeks. Residents attribute the missing citizens to a ghost. White shapes have been seen in the night and strange sounds have been heard.

The truth is an albino snake has been feeding off of the mice over the past few weeks. Somehow he’s escaping detection (I was thinking of setting it some place where the snake could be traveling between the walls of a fort or something). The white shapes and sounds are obviously glimpses of the snake.

I definitely want the investigation and fight with the snake to be primary. One of the ideas I had for a clue is the rate of victims vanishing due to the snake needing to feed. After little Molly another mouse was taken just a day later, but after Fat Bob no mice disappeared for four whole days.

I’ve also toyed with the idea of there being a mouse, or group of them either bringing the snake here for their own nefarious purposes, either directly or as a distraction while they enact some other scheme. I don’t want to throw too much at new players the first time though.

Ok, that was a bit of a mini brain dump. I’m curious what advice anyone might have…

Have it be in the town of Appleloft in the Fall. It is a small community that relies on harvesting apples for food and cider (Hard Cider too.)

The territories are having an Indian Summer and it has been quite long and warm.(Hence the snake is active.) The Mice have been disappearing while harvesting apples near the settlement and has all the mice scared to harvest. Hence they sent word to the Guard.