Hand of the Pit treasure question (spoilers)

One of the items that can be found in that adventure is the Helm of Sanctity, which has the following effect:

If worn by a theurge or shaman, anyone in the bearer’s presence may test to recover from afraid without a check once per camp phase. The helm also prevents malicious use of telepathy against the bearer. If the helm is used to absorb damage, the helm loses its magical quality forever.

However, shamans can’t wear helmets, and theurges can only wear them if they take the Militant benefit at level 2. Is this a mistake, or does the helm of sanctity ignore normal limitations for helmets on these classes? Or is it only useful to theurges with that level benefit (outside of blocking telepathy)?

Looks like you’ve found a bit of errata! I would probably strike “If worn by a theurge or shaman.”
It should probably read:

Anyone in the wearer’s presence may test to recover from afraid without a check once per camp phase.

That said, either of your proposed solutions would be fine if you prefer them for your game.

2 Likes

I have been ruling that characters can wear or wield anything but unless you have the benefit it doesn’t do the thing it’s meant to do. You can wear a helmet but it won’t reduce damage for you. You can swing a sword so you’re not unarmed but it won’t give you a +1D.

Applying that here, they can wear it like a relic, but only a theurge with the militant benefit can use to reduce your damage.

2 Likes