Help me describe difficulty

I have a player who wants me to give an indication of how difficult things are through their description. I am not very good at this.

I think it should go like this:

“How hard would it be to climb the side of the ship?”
“The ship’s side is sheer, it’s slippery but its poor construction has left crude handholds.”
“And how would I feel about that with a skill of B2?”
“You might feel out of practice. Are you going to climb the ship?”

But for me it seems to go like this:
“It looks pretty difficult. Lets look at the factors. Probably about the same as climbing a rock wall.”
“And how hard is that?”
“It’s pretty diffcult. An act you could do if you concentrate.”
“And how would I feel about that with a skill of B2?”
“It’s up to you to decide how your character would feel… Are you going to climb the ship?”
“How hard would it be?”

And then we both get frustrated.

Should I be aiming to be the first case? How do I get there?

Why don’t you tell him the Ob?

Because you declare the Ob when the player commits to the test.

Or is that just a Torchbearer thing?

A few thoughts.

How lenient are you about letting players know the obstacle before committing to an action. By its harshest interpretation, once an action is announced, it must be followed through-- no exceptions. Careful queries of increasing frustration may be a symptom of trying to get around this rule.

I do not think there is a right answer. Player skill and rules confidence play a great part of a good session. Nurturing those aspects are just as important, if not more so, than the rules. Striking a balance between rulebook harshness and casual practicality is necessary for all tables.

Alternative if you feel a need a consistent set of adjectives and adverbs turn to BWG, pg15, for a list of difficulty levels.