Help with Scenario to demonstrate narrative control and task/intent

I’m new to story-games. I’m used to a clear GM and PC split, rather than the PC having control. Can you help with the following scenario we had in our game last night?

Phase: Usurpation
Phase Objective: Modify Planetary Attitude
Maneuver: Take Action (our thought is to use Law to capture a hulled human)

GM Interstitial Scene: A tip directs the Investigator General, PC Baronet Vestig (our FoN), to a hulled body at the docks
Baronet Vestig: For my building scene I want to find out where the naiven went when the body was killed. Ultimately I’d like to track the naiven back to the Enemy hideout.

Baronet Vestig’s task was to use an investigative logic test at the scene of the crime. Failure, meant he would discover that one of his underlings has taken the worm. A mole. Success meant he would narrate finding the actual naiven worm somewhere nearby. He was successful.
Vestig narrated finding the worm in a nearby rainbarrel.
Vestig then wanted to do a ruse to get the worm into a dog’s body thats been outfitted with tracking technology.
His intent was to follow the dog to the Enemy hideout.
GM said sure, I have no problem with that. No rolls made.
Vestig narrates the naiven jumping to the dog and then following the dog back to a hideout near the ocean.
Vestig’s intent is to capture everyone inside the hideout so he can interrogate any hulled humans.
GM thinks, this is a good place to have a roll of the dice, he doesn’t necessarily want Vestig to just capture a bunch of Vaylen without a fight. GM mulls what tests this would be and session derails for a bit.

I’m curious how other games go, as a GM what would you have done with the player’s original intent? At what point would you ask for rolls in his building scene?