BWG page 46 has the rules for how helpers earn tests for advancement, but I’m having trouble figuring out whether the tests are for the skill being used to help or the skill being helped.
For example: if my party member is making an Orienteering test & I help using my Navigation - do I earn a test for Navigation or Orienteering?
The wording “as if he had tested against the obstacle with his own ability” seems on a straightforward read to mean I get a test to advance or open my Orienteering. But the rule for helping with a stat on an unskilled test, “since he is helping with his stat, he earns a test for advancing his stat” seems like it might just as easily apply to helping with my Navigation, not Orienteering.
If one option was obviously more punishing I’d feel confident in the intent, but as it is I’m just not sure.