How many Skills now?

Ok so i am now the proud owner of the Mouse Guard Roleplaying game box set. I got it on Tuesday and am almost 2/3 of the way through the book. I was glancing at the recruitment section and couldn’t find how many skills the new mouse characters start with. Any help figuring this out would be greatly appreciated.

Cakewalk

in part it depends on the choices they make in recruitment. If you look at the templates, you’ll notice that sometimes the same ranked sample mice have different numbers of skills.

Try a few walk throughs of the recruitment by making a few characters of different concepts. You’ll probably find you can make a mouse with many or few skills.

You get one skill from where you were born and then you pick skills based on your rank starting in the life experience section.

Eurika!! thanks chums this is my first time using the burning wheel system so i got a bit confused

Personally, I love the recruitment process of the game because it really helps the players get to know their characters. However, some people may be leery of sitting through it, or a late arrival needing to create a character may compromise play time. Also, the GM might want/need to improvise a fast and dirty character. For instances such as this, I made this chart, to abbreviate the creation process. The values below represent the skill point total of each rank. Keep in mind that this total WILL NOT BE THE FINAL TOTAL because after skills are picked, 1 is added to each of them (see Tally on page 303). Note that these numbers also EXCLUDE wise ranks, as wises are handled after the skills tally. It is possible to generate a character using my chart that cannot mathematically exist within the confines of the recruitment chapter, but this is rare and generally any character can be revisited and justified with some creative thinking and taking advantage of the lesser-knows settlements ambiguity towards traits and professions.

Tenderpaw| Traits: 3 Skills: 12