Introducing Torchbearer to newbies (and kids)

Dear all,
I have been thinking about introducing Torchbearer to my wife and kid. Both are relative newbies to RPGs (they mostly played some Basic Red Box D&D). I was wondering if anyone had any ideas/suggestions to simplify/streamline the game, or at least gently and slowly “introduce” them to the game. I don’t have a lot of experience with TB (although I have been running games for 30+ years), so I am a bit at a loss.

Thanks in advance,
Antonio

2 Likes

Hello and welcome,

I’ve run TB for all ages and found that a lack of RPG experience actually benefits Describe to Live. Start right at the door of the dungeon and give them their first decision or problem to solve. Let them naturally just roleplay. If you present an obstacle to someone, you shouldn’t have to ask “What do you do?” They should jump on that without worrying about the mechanics.

At the beginning of the session, I go over their character sheet and then explain the basics of making a test, but that is it for the rules to start. I tell each player which roles in the team they are good at (e.g. disarming traps, finding traps, cooking, digging tunnels, carrying heavy stuff, drawing the map). As rules come up during the course of play, I give them choices and explain the rules at the point. The first time the torch goes out, they will gasp, but they will remember it.

Finally, you have to do a little bit of work getting kids to think about “not being heroic.” Western culture ingrains in them all sorts of myths about epic heroism, but the game rejects the general conceit of the individual champion. I tell them the goal is to get out of the dungeon with as much gold as possible with as little trouble possible. Sometimes I tell them all the classes are really “thieves,” and that helps them get it.

9 Likes