Is there a "lite" version of BWG ?

Hello! :slight_smile: I just scored a copy of BWG, and I’ve been digesting it… This game looks awesome!! I was doubly stoked to find it has a thriving online community and support from Luke & co.

I would love to run this for some friends but it’s just overwhelmingly complex. While as GM I am willing to invest in learning it, my players aren’t so patient or invested. Is there a “lite” version of BW out there?

For example, the monsters look like Greek to me. Is there a fan-made template for clearer monster stats out there? The B/G/W designation before rankings is completely non-intuitive (though I realize that it refers to succeeding on a 4/3/2 respectively). Also, how does a GM discern how many and which type of monsters are an evenly matched challenge for their players?

Forgive any ignorance; most of my gaming experience is D&D and I’m just getting into BW. Thanks!

Don’t know if it will help, but theres a whole forum devoted to fan made monsters here.

B/G/W is a nod to Tolkien. Gandalf shade shifts from Gandalf the Grey to Gandalf the White. But, you’re a long ways away from it mattering. No one is going to shade shift any time soon.

As for a lite version, nope. But, stick to the first 77 or so pages, the hub and spokes, until you’ve got some experience with BW. Wait until everyone is really really comfortable with the core game and then add the various systems from the rim gradually.

Welcome to the forums!

To emphasize: mechanically, BW is simple at its core. You roll Xd6, where X is your skill or attribute, maybe with some added from various sources. You compare to a target obstacle. If you roll high enough you succeed and get what you want. Beliefs, Instincts, advancement and Artha are all unfamiliar concepts very different from D&D, but they’re not that hard. (Hard to master, yes, but not all that hard to grasp at a basic level.)