Journey rules: a question about Cook and Toll

The Lore Master’s Manual, p 145, says that a Cook “may test their Cook skill to alleviate toll generated from the settlements and landmarks passed. They may not reduce toll from terrain, weather, trouble, roles or armor.”

On p 144, though, the example of paying down toll seems to contradict this:

Our crew of three was caught out in bad weather heading from Høytvann to Brugard. They had to pay a toll of 4 each. So Asterios and Kjarr foraged and cooked for the crew, paying down each character’s toll of 4 with 12 portions of food and water.

This looks like Cook being used to pay down weather-inflicted toll. Or have I misunderstood something?

Ugh. The weather is just color there.

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 90 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.