Learning Spells and Aptitude

When I am learning a new spell, I add my Perception Aptitude to the Ob.

Assuming the perfect (starting) case (B6 Per and Magic Whistle) I am casting Magic Whistle with an Ob of 5.

If my Forte is B4, do I always get taxed casting Magic Whistle? Or do I use the base Ob for the spell, and ignore the spellcasting modifier?

It is the base Ob of the spell, not the Ob of casting the spell, is my understanding.

As per this thread.

1 Like

Thanks! I looked for it but could not find it!

No problem!

The line right under “Tax” on page 504 of BWGR, “His obstacle is the spell’s obstacle,” that language is perhaps more specific than it would at first seem.

This topic was automatically closed 90 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.