Lifepath descriptions

I’m new to Burning Empires and haven’t yeat read through the book. One thing got me a bit confused though, when reading through the lifepaths. There are really no descriptions of each lifepath, for eaxmple Caeptir and X-O. I don’t know what they mean and can’t find it in the book, or am I missing something? Maybe it’s due to English not beeing my native tounge, I’m not sure.

X-O is slang for Executive Officer. Generally, it is the second in command on a naval ship.

It has nothing to do with your command of English – there are some very weird, obscure phrases and Latinoid sprinkled through there. You should be able to figure out what most of them are from context, though.

Didn’t someone go through the book and reverse-engineer the wacky Empire-speak a while ago?

p.

Generally speaking, the LPs are in hierarchical order, from lowest to highest. That combined with the required skills and traits will usually give you a pretty good idea of what the LP is about.

For the Kerrn, pretend you’re Arnold Schwarzenegger and say them aloud.

There are no descriptions. You generally have to figure it out from skills, traits and requirements.

X-O means executive officer, as Count Zero mentioned. They get Administration, Persuasion, Unit-wise, Bureaucracy and Regulations-wise, and the Scut-work and Privileged Position traits, and they are in the Anvil setting. Privileged Position mentions interacting with powerful figures in government and the military. So the X-O in this context is a high-ranking Anvil desk jockey, making sure that the unit he is attached to gets the support it needs from the unwieldy military bureaucracy.