Lifestyle and When to Roll Resources

I’m new to BW and stoked to give it a whirl as GM, but I’d like some clarification on Resources and lifestyle.

So here’s the umbrella question: If a character wants to purchase something, when is it appropriate for the player roll Resources and when does the purchase fall under Lifestyle?

I interpret the rules to mean that the character’s average meals, average housing, and average clothing are all taken into account in the Lifestyle Obstacles. Do you agree? Why or why not?

So, my players should never have to roll Resources to pay for a new shirt like the ones they usually wear or a drink and a meal at a tavern, even if the characters actually pay for these things in gameplay (and not in downtime). They simply tell me that they walk into the tavern and order a common ale, dark bread, and whatever’s in the pot. Then, we keep playing with no dice rolled. Do you agree?

On the other hand, if a poor confidence artist decides to up his game from two-bit street stuff to grifting nobles, then he’ll need to acquire a fine suit of clothing, start eating fine foods and drinking fine wines, etc., in order to interact appropriately with his new marks. These expenses are not part of his lifestyle, and so the player must roll Resources (and engage in all sorts of lovely roleplaying) in order for the character to actually have these. Do you agree?

At what point do you think it is appropriate to say that the confidence artist’s lifestyle now allows him fine clothes and meals (so that he doesn’t have to roll Resources anymore)?

Thanks!

Lifestyle tests are rolled during the agreed upon Maintenance cycle. It excludes single purchases like buying a meal at a tavern. For those instances, you should make them roll. The Ob would probably be pretty low, but they should roll if the result is uncertain and you can come up with an interesting failure.