Light in Conflicts

In physical conflicts (like flee or kill, in which the players are assumed to be moving about quite a bit), do light sources still provide light and dim light to the same number of people as usual? In the case of, say, a torch in combat, might the PC not holding the torch but getting Light from it change during the conflict (perhaps between rounds)?

I’d like to simply rule each situation in which this arises by how the players are describing their action in the conflict, but then it is possible that, over the course of a round, all players could be acting in Light (and that would seem to defeat the purpose of someone bearing an otherwise limited source of light).

If this is already a thread somewhere (or in the book) and I missed it, accept my apologies and point me in the right direction, if you would.

By default, light sources continue to provide light for characters based on who was in the light when the conflict began. Obviously, the person carrying the light source is always in the light. You can change which other characters are in the light between rounds.

That said, go ahead and hack it if something else works better for you.

That answers my question spot on! Thanks :slight_smile:

I have a related question:

If the party breaks a Lantern or loses a torch during a Conflict, what happens to a non-fleeing, riddling, or arguing Conflict when there is no available light source?

Example: The Halfling carrying the Lantern uses it as an improvised weapon. They succeed, but the Lantern breaks, casting the dungeon into darkness.
Does their combat-based Conflict suddenly turn into a Flee/Riddle/Argue Conflict? Or, do they just suffer the +1 Ob to all actions for the remainder?

Good question and one that could definitely stand to be better addressed in the rules!

Here’s how I currently handle it: If you’re engaged in a Kill, Drive Off or Capture conflict and lose your light:
[li]It remains the type of conflict it started as, and the skills used remain the same.[/li][li]If you lose, the GM uses the GM Wins portion of the Suggested Conflict Compromises table on page 73. If you lose your light in a kill conflict, you abide by the Killing Is My Business rules.[/li][li]If you win, you escape as if it were a flee conflict. The GM imposes a compromise based on the GM Loses: Compromise portion of the Suggested Conflict Compromises table for the conflict you started. e.g., if you were attempted to capture the monster, the GM would use the capture compromises.[/li][/ol]

Does that make sense?