Linked tests - can back out after first failure?

Checked the rules and forums but no answer immediately grabs me. If you fail the first test (and it makes it impossible to succeed in the second due to the +1Ob or any other reason), can players back out of it and only take the first failure consequence? Came up in play (cobbler > resources for cash) and decided to say it was implicit in agreeing to the premise of a linked test that PC would try both parts. Appreciate your collective wisdom, o internet.

You can back out, yes. But there’s still the failure consequence from the first test to deal with, as that’s its own legit intent and task.