Many Questions

Hi all! I’m new to BE and to the forum. If these questions are best answered by other threads, by Wiki articles, or in the rules themselves, please feel free to direct me to whereever I need to go.

I just got the book and have read (most of) it. I have a group of five players and we start playing next Wednesday. I think some of this stuff might become apparent as I play, but I hope to have a good understanding of the game before we get started so I can field questions from the players.

Most of my questions revolve around the structure of gameplay.

1. On Figures of Note. Does every Figure of Note have to be a PC? Do PCs all have to play Figures of Note? If there is one Figure of Note each phase, and there are three phases to a campaign, does that mean three of my players will get to have the fun of being a Figure of Note, while two of them will just be on the sidelines?

2. On scenes. What happens if a character starts a Color or Building Scene that escalates to Conflict? Are players prohibited from using the Conflict rules unless there is a Conflict Scene? What if I jump in and escalate to a Conflict Scene during another player’s Building Scene? Does that count as their Conflict Scene, or as mine? Does it still count as their Building Scene?

3. More on scenes. As the GM, should all my scenes directly involve a PC? How do I work in the opposition’s Figures of Note if that’s the case? I am imagining a Building Scene for an NPC Figure of Note - do I roleplay my Figure of Note activating a Circle and speaking to another NPC? This just seems a little weird.

I know there’s more, but I have to go back to work now, and I think three questions is good for a first post. :cool:

Hi MUKid, and welcome!

I don’t have enough time at the moment to answer your questions. Hopefully one of the many helpful members of our community will jump in!