Market Research for a Mouse Guard podcast

I’ve been recording the last few sessions of my Mouse Guard campaign, with the intent that I’ll eventually chop it up and post it, probably on my YouTube channel. So I thought I’d do a little market research, since I’ve never done one of these before. Please answer the following questions, so I may deliver the best, most entertaining product possible.

1. What is the ideal length, per episode, for you? 30 minutes, 45 minutes, an hour, or an entire session, no matter how long?

2. The first recorded session didn’t turn out as well as I had planned. I was rushed for an idea for the game, and it turned out a little dumb. And since I’m still relatively new at this game, I didn’t run it very well. Would you like to hear this first episode anyways, or leave it as an unaired pilot?

3. Would you be willing to listen to episodes on YouTube, or would you prefer your podcasts to be in actual podcast format, as in audio files on iTunes?

4. On a scale of 1 to 10, how much tolerance do you have for mouse-related pop culture references in the game? 10 being you love them, 1 being you can’t stand them.

More questions may be forthcoming, depending on how much interest crops up.

1. 20 min
  2. No. If you’re not satisfied with it, don’t publish it.
  3. Multiple formats. It’s the internet.
  4. As in Mickey Mouse? I’ll abstain from rating, but say that a MG podcast should focus on MG.

I was thinking more like an adversarial NPC who suspiciously resembles Ratigan from the Great Mouse Detective (including a cooperative fox instead of a cat). Or that the mayor of Sprucetuck is named “Mr. Ages.” All still very much in the setting, of course. They would seem perfectly innocuous if you don’t know the reference (but my players will know them).

That stuff is all fine.

1. & 3.