MG resolution system... (sell me on it)

It’s not my intention to be provocative or troll-like with this post and I apologize in advance if anyone takes my criticisms too personally.

I’m a 20+ year veteran of about a jillion rpg systems and over the years I’ve been leaning more and more towards leaner systems that encourage storytelling/role-playing over managing massive data tables. I heard about the simple/elegant systems behind MG and decided to pick up a copy (having no experience with BW).

The character creation system is a charming, the task-check system is clean, the traits system is an interesting take on the kind of character defining attributes that Spirit of the Century uses, etc. etc. All good stuff so far.

And then we hit the RESOLUTION section of the rules and all of the elegance goes out the window and the “simplicity” turns around to bite the user on the butt. I’ve tried to give this system the benefit of the doubt but I find it so wildly contrary to the rest of the attitude of the system that stresses role-play and simple mechanics.

It’s contrived (the weird “team-based” objectives - regardless of what motivations the individual might have and how those motivations might be mercurial during the action), it’s clunky (the cross-reference charts that are modified yet again by particular weapons), and the “tactical” choices are hollow (choosing between attack, defend, etc. is almost always an obvious character choice or comes down to a random rock-paper-scissors game).

The whole resolution system smacks of “different for the sake of being different” rather than actually offering anything better than what has been previously designed in other game systems. And where I find FREEDOM in the rest of the open-ended mechanics of MG, I find the rigid, board-game structure of the resolution system to be absolutely stifling.