Misc MG questions from a brand-spankin'-new GM

Hello!

First a bit of a background, so you guys know where I’m coming from. I’ve got ZERO tabletop RPG experience, though I’ve played a few computer RPGs in the past (Fallout 1 & 2, Neverwinter Nights, Icewind Dale, etc.). I wanted to play D&D but balked at the complexity plus I was hoping to play with my wife and son (age 6) so I felt D&D was too, I dunno, rough and brutal for him, so I shelved that for a few more years down the road.

I’ve been scouting around the internet and stumbled upon a few reviews of Mouse Guard and decided to pick it up… and I couldn’t put it down. The comics are simply awesome and so far, only Conrad and Celanwe have died and in a way that is easy to explain to a 6-year old kid, so that’s good.

I’m now halfway through my SECOND read of the RPG book, and while it has been a very interesting read (much better than the D&D Player’s Handbook, and the art is simply awesome), I feel like I still have to grasp the actual game mechanics of this “simplified” Burning Wheel concept. While I love the idea that roleplaying is what is rewarded, as opposed to how many bad guys you put down, I’m having a bit of a trouble wrapping my head around this concept.

Again, guys, I have no previous tabletop experience, so please bear with me. I don’t even know how to begin, so I’ll just throw these questions out there as I come across them. These are what I have for now, but I bet they’ll lead to more questions and I’ll even have more as I go through my second, more-detailed read of the book.

1. “The Little S” = is the success applied BEFORE or AFTER determining if you made it? ie., if I need 3 successes (maybe an Ob 3 test), and I have a “+1s” and I rolled 2 successes, does the “+1s” mean I actually get 3 successes? Or does the “+1s” only work if I passed the test and it only serves to increas my margin of success?

2. Gear (p.35) - Does this mean that weapons give a +1D to rolls that use Fighter?