Mule questions

I have a few questions about the Mule lifepath/trait.

I assume that the requirement for the 10 year hermit lifepath at the end of the list of Psychologist lifepaths requires the Mule -lifepath-, not the Mule trait?

Is there a specific reason why the Mule lifepath (and only the Mule lifepath, as far as I’ve seen) requires the consent of the whole group? My inference is that it caused some sort of trouble during the playtest, but as I’m new to the Burning I’m not sure specifically how above and beyond being especially sneaky.

(Can’t someone with the Burning Mark just wear a mask/helmet, after all?)

Thanks. (This is, of course, my first post.)

I’m guessing it’s because the Mule lifepath has the Mule trait, which lets people use Psychology without anyone else noticing. I guess this is a big and potentially unbalancing advantage, compared to the Bright Mark.

Not sure about wearing helmets though! I’d rule that it shone through them!

Given the description of how the Bright Mark works (cells were genetically altered to produce light), I’m uncertain it could be bright enough to shine through a sealed steel helmet with a closed circuit camera system.

In regards to the Trait requirement. You could buy the Trait without the Lifepath with Free Trait Points (though it is as expensive as hell*)

In regards to the Bright Mark, it does not glow, it Burns brightly and scars the individual. You can tell a Psychologis just by looking at the burned mark on their face. From th comics it looks like they have burning magnesium on them.

Of course you could go around with a helmet on, and during War I am sure many do. but really are you going to wear it all the time? in court? while eating? I certainly woundn’t trust you then.

I wonder if you could get soem plastic surgry to give yourself a Bright Mark scar even if you were not a psycologust… would it give you a bonus to Intimidation, if they could see it?

edit: