Natural Selection & Psychology in the decline of "humanity"

Hi all,

First, let me start off by saying that I’m new to BW & BE, just ordered a bunch of books earlier today after stumbling across the system yesterday… I can’t wait to get the books, this system looks awesome. In the meantime I’ve been reading over all the free downloads, in fact, these are what pushed be to jump into the system… very cool & imaginative, can’t wait to play!

Anyway, I read the Psychology chapter and was wondering… What exactly is it, it game terms? A mutation and/or an inheritable trait, or something else? Can a child be born with the ability if the parents lack it?

The BE is a rich one, hats off to Mr. Moeller, I had no choice but to get BE after I read the intro chapter to the setting. Anyway, an interesting concept occured to me as I read about Psychology…

With the laws of “natural selection” in place, and the threat of the Worms becoming ever more prominent, won’t psychologists be selected for more and more over time because they have innate resistances to infection? Maybe, over time, the “glowing mark” of the psychologist will become a very desirable trait in a mate, and psychologists will eventually replace all humans without the capability, with the darwinian pressure of the worm infections knocking off the non-pschologists left & right. (just a thought)

Well, more to the point of relevancy in-game… About how rare are psychologists? (I already have 2 players interested, but I’m hesitant to allow so many in one group unless they are fairly common, partly because I also want to use NPCs with these powers too).

Thanks in advance for any input… and, I don’t have the books yet (should be arriving this week) so if this stuff is already covered in them let me know, I’ll just wait and see.

regards,

CtF