New Class: Monk

This is my personal try on my first extra character class for Torchbearer. A few other will follow soon and I hope you will have fun reading them.

http://fantasyandmore.wordpress.com/2014/04/09/hold-up-the-torch/

For my part I had a lot of fun creating them, so thanks a lot to Thor & Luke for inspiring my creative muscles. If I fumbled up with anything from the legal side, please let me know, and I will adjust that asap.

I am looking forward to feedback, but please keep in mind, that these classes still need play testing time (I have only experience with Mouseguard so far, so I tried to adapt, because I can’t wait to put some brain stuff into my ideas) and I am not a professional artist either. Just had fun drawing that stuff up, in the theme of the old AD&D setting.

I like it! Two questions/suggestions:

How come the Monk doesn’t have the Ritualist skill? I know it cannot cast spells, but the strict regimen of monastery life screams this skill.

I think Unarmed Combat should be accessible at level 1.

Yes I thought about both points too.

My goal was though to achieve a closer connection to the monk from the 1st edition AD&D set. There the monks were represented less religious and more eastern themed in structure. Actually they were closer to thieves than to clerics. That’s the reason for me to go for scouting instead of ritualist.

It takes a monk apprentice some time, till he is that proficient in unarmed fighting to gain the benefit. Doing that for 1st level seems a bit unbalancing to me.

This class looks very fun.

I will be playing a Monk character Thursday night.

Two questions:

1. Why is the Survivalist skill not included among the special human skills (as per usual) ?

2. How would you define Iron Discipline? Can you give an example or two of what it would affect in game play?

Thanks!

Good eye catch! Yes, the missing Survivalist skill is a typo of course. There is no reason why Monks should not have this option.