New Torchbearer GM

Hi all,

Up at GenCon, I’ll be meeting a few distant friends and would like to run a little one-shot Torchbearer adventure to introduce them to the game. In my hopes of being a good ambassador for a game I’ve grown to love, and in the interest of sparking some discussion, I thought I’d ask the forum if they had any tips. I’ve been playing online with some of the Mordite guys for the last nearly 2 years and it’s been a blast and I want to give a good showing of Torchbearer.

1. What is essential to explain about the game before starting? Or maybe nothing, and just roleplay away. It seems to me explaining BITs, earning checks, the Grind, and maybe nature might be useful before starting. But maybe not?

2. Are there any blog entries or podcasts that might be helpful for a new GM? I’m not really great at soaking up rules anymore and it might be nice to hear what the essential things to be comfortable navigating early on and what may be more fudgeable in a one-shot.

Anyway, again, I’m hoping to get some discussion going if possible. It’s been 15+ years since I’ve GMed anything, so looking for any resources that might put me in a good position.

Thanks!
Connor

3 Likes

Hail Connor! Proud to number you among the horde.

Site Size
The most important thing about a one-shot is size. It should be 3–5 rooms at most. The Dread Crypt of Skogenby is probably a good size match. A lot of one-page dungeons will work too.

What to Explain Up Front
Explain Description Forward (p6). Tell them that in this game you describe your action and the GM calls for rolls.

Explain how the dice work – Obstacles, Successes, Scoundrels.

That’s about it, everything else benefits from being explained in context.

Introducing Checks
Checks are the hardest thing in the game to explain. My current favorite approach is to just not mention them. Open with a single conditional success and then stick to mostly twists (maybe 2-1 or even 3-1) for the rest of the session.